The Missouri Senate is the upper chamber of the Missouri General Assembly. It has 34 members, representing districts with an average population of 174,000.[1] Its members serve four-year terms, with half the seats being up for election every two years. The Senate chooses a President Pro Tempore to serve in the absence of the lieutenant governor or when he shall have to exercise the office of governor of Missouri if there is a vacancy in that office due to death, resignation, impeachment, or incapacitation.[2]

Members of the Missouri General Assembly are prohibited from serving more than eight years in either the state house of representatives or state senate, or a total of sixteen years, due to statutory term limits.[3]

The next election is scheduled for 2022.


After the 2020 general election the party representation in the Senate was:


(Shading indicates majority caucus)
End of previous legislature2410340
Beginning of current legislature2410340
Latest voting share71%29%

Senate officers

President Pro Tem of the SenateDave SchatzRepublicanSullivan26
Majority LeaderCaleb RowdenRepublicanColumbia19
Assistant Majority Floor LeaderBill WhiteRepublicanJoplin32
Minority LeaderJohn RizzoDemocraticKansas City11
Assistant Minority LeaderBrian WilliamsDemocraticSt. Louis County14

Members of the Missouri Senate

1Doug BeckDemocraticSt. Louis
2Bob OnderRepublicanLake St. Louis
3Elaine GannonRepublicanDe Soto
4Karla MayDemocraticSt. Louis
5Steven RobertsDemocraticSt. Louis
6Mike BernskoetterRepublicanJefferson City
7Greg RazerDemocraticKansas City
8Mike CierpiotRepublicanKansas City
9Barbara WashingtonDemocraticKansas City
10Jeanie RiddleRepublicanMokane
11John RizzoDemocraticKansas City
12Dan HegemanRepublicanCosby
13Angela MosleyDemocraticSpanish Lake
14Brian WilliamsDemocraticSt. Louis County
15Andrew KoenigRepublicanManchester (St. Louis Co.)
16Justin BrownRepublicanRolla
17Lauren ArthurDemocraticKansas City
18Cindy O’LaughlinRepublicanShelbina
19Caleb RowdenRepublicanColumbia
20Eric BurlisonRepublicanBattlefield
21Denny HoskinsRepublicanWarrensburg
22Paul WielandRepublicanImperial
23Bill EigelRepublicanWeldon Spring
24Jill SchuppDemocraticCreve Coeur
25Jason BeanRepublicanPoplar Bluff
26Dave SchatzRepublicanSullivan
27Holly RehderRepublicanCape Girardeau
28Sandy CrawfordRepublicanBuffalo
29Mike MoonRepublicanAsh Grove
30Lincoln HoughRepublicanSpringfield
31Rick BrattinRepublicanLamar
32Bill WhiteRepublicanJoplin
33Karla EslingerRepublicanMarshfield
34Tony LuetkemeyerRepublicanParkville



Under Rule 25 of the Senate Rules, all committees are appointed by the President Pro Tem, who is currently Dave Schatz.[5]

Standing committees

AdministrationDave SchatzCaleb Rowden
Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor ResourcesMike BernskoetterJason Bean
AppropriationsDan HegemanLincoln Hough
Commerce, Consumer Protection, Energy and the EnvironmentMike CierpiotJeanie Riddle
Economic DevelopmentDenny HoskinsMike Cierpiot
EducationCindy O’LaughlinRick Brattin
Fiscal OversightLincoln HoughBill White
General LawsBill EigelHolly Rehder
Gubernatorial AppointmentsDave SchatzCaleb Rowden
Health and PensionsBob OnderAndrew Koenig
Insurance and BankingPaul WielandSandy Crawford
Judiciary and Civil and Criminal JurisprudenceTony LuetkemeyerBob Onder
Local Government and ElectionsSandy CrawfordLincoln Hough
Professional RegistrationJeanie RiddleEric Burlison
Progress and DevelopmentJill SchuppBrian Williams
Rules, Joint Rules, Resolutions and EthicsCaleb RowdenDave Schatz
Seniors, Families and ChildrenBill WhiteElaine Gannon
Small Business and IndustryEric BurlisonMike Moon
Transportation, Infrastructure and Public SafetyJustin BrownJason Bean
Ways and MeansAndrew KoenigBill Eigel


See also


  1. ^ “Did You Know – Facts About the Missouri Senate”. Retrieved April 1, 2018.
  2. ^ “Home”.
  3. ^ Article III, Section 8 of the Constitution of Missouri (1945)
  4. ^ “Senators – Missouri Senate”. Missouri Senate. Retrieved February 6, 2020.
  5. ^ “Standing Committees | Missouri Senate”. Missouri Senate. Retrieved January 6, 2020.

External links

Coordinates: 38°34′44″N 92°10′22″W / 38.57902°N 92.17270°W / 38.57902; -92.17270